no avatar

Monroeville's Stieber is FC Player of the Year

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Nov 12, 2018 at 6:10 PM

Seven of the nine players on the All-Firelands Conference volleyball first team came from Monroeville, St. Paul and Western Reserve, the league announced on Monday.

Monroeville libero Stacia Stieber was selected the Player of the Year for the conference, adding to her already well-accomplished postseason award season. A senior, Stieber was also the Ohio High School Volleyball Coaches Association District 6 Player of the Year and All-Ohio first team in Division IV.

In 28 matches this season, Stieber finished with 636 digs in helping lead the Eagles to Div. IV district and regional championships. She finished with 1,986 career digs.

Sophomore hitter Kylee Brooks (316 kills) and setter Camryn Hedrick (1,094 assists) joined Stieber on the first team for Monroeville. The Eagles (24-4) fell in five games to New Bremen in a state semifinal match last week.

For co-FC champion St. Paul (20-5), senior hitter Kamryn Maxwell was on the first team after finishing with 326 kills and 343 digs. She was also selected to the All-Ohio second team.

Also on the first team included the Western Reserve trio of libero Morgan White (347 digs/206 kills), hitter Avery Tubbs (286 kills) and setter Hannah Burke (697 assists).

Earning second team recognition included St. Paul’s Lauren Chandler, Dyllan Knoll and Megan Hammersmith; Monroeville’s Kelsie Palmer and Graisyn Yoder; South Central’s Taylor Sexton and New London’s Brooklyn Hudson.

Crestview’s Jody Ritchey earned Coach of the Year honors after leading the Cougars to the league title share with St. Paul — their first since 1996.


2018 All-FC volleyball teams

First team: Natalie Restille, Crestview; Kenidi Goon, Crestview; Kamryn Maxwell, St. Paul; Camryn Hedrick, Monroeville; Stacia Stieber, Monroeville; Kylee Brooks, Monroeville; Morgan White, Western Reserve; Avery Tubbs, Western Reserve; Hannah Burke, Western Reserve.

Second team: Bre Swank, Crestview; Magey Shambre, Crestview; Lauren Chandler, St. Paul; Dyllan Knoll, St. Paul; Megan Hammersmith, St. Paul; Kelsie Palmer, Monroeville; Graisyn Yoder, Monroeville; Taylor Sexton, South Central; Grace Grundy, Mapleton; Brooklyn Hudson, New London.

Honorable mention: Adrian Barman, Monroeville; Morgan Spettle, Western Reserve; Lilian Bartow, New London; Emily Akers, Plymouth; Rebekah Kaufman, Crestview; Lorin Walcher, South Central; Kennedy Stang, St. Paul; Arin Merle, Mapleton.

Player of the Year: Stacia Stieber, Monroeville.

Coach of the Year: Jody Ritchey, Crestview.

Norwalk Reflector Videos