no avatar

Huron County Fair Board to elect directors

• Nov 27, 2019 at 8:00 PM

The top stories in the Reflector-Herald on Nov. 27, 1962:


To elect Fair board of directors

Eleven present directors of the Huron County Fair Board are running for re-election in Saturday’s election staged by the Huron County Agricultural Society annually to elect one-third of the directorship.

Mrs. Elfreda Crayton, secretary, said all members of the agricultural society are eligible to vote Saturday, 10 to 2 p.m. in the Commissioners’ office in the Huron County Courthouse, to select the 11 of 32 directors.

Those running for the 11 seats as directors are: Wallas Cawrse, Fitchville Township; Anthony Meyer, Greenfield Township; James Yingling, Lyme Township; Edwin Fessenden, Norwalk; Alice Klingelsmith, Norwich Township; Carl Ellis, Plymouth; George Freis, Ridgefield Township; Mrs. Abe Smith, director-at-large; Ralph Underwood, North Fairfield; Harold Scheid, Peru Township; and L.G. Hemany, New London.


Research Club review etiquette

Mrs. Waldo Schock was hostess for the meeting of the Research Club yesterday afternoon.Two reports were included in the program which followed the business meeting conducted by the president, Mrs. Clarence Ellett.

Mrs. Lowell Ruggles read a paper which she had prepared entitled “Etiquette of Yesteryear,” and Mrs. Henry Heckelman gave a review of “Truly Emily Post,” by Edwin Post, son of the etiquette expert. The next meeting will be Dec. 10, with Mrs. Guy Hummon as the hostess.


Jaycees still searching with little hope

The Jaycees have little hope in that the Christmas Tree for the Court House lawn will be locally donated.

The tree should approximately stand 35 to 40 feet high. The Jaycees will be glad to have the tree removed.

Anyone wishing to donate a tree please contact Chuck Wagner by phoning 663-3814.


Firelands Conference race viewed as best since formation of loop

The Firelands Conference basketball race shaped up to be another bang-up battle. For the first time since the conference was formed, no team can be called a favorite.

According to the coaches of the loop, a four-team race is eyed.  They figure to be the Milan Indians, Perkins Pirates, South Central Trojans and Western Reserve Roughriders...

...Coach Joe Steele, in his eighth year at the school, has a winning sting in his eye where the Milan Indians are mentioned for the crown. He has that right as he has five lettermen back, including his two high scoring players from last year: George Tigges and Bob Burdge.

Other boys back with a letter are Mike Obrenovich, Dave Howard and Rick Balcoom.

The South Central Trojans, coached to the Firelands crown last year by four-year veteran Joe Andrews, will be without their high scoring forward, Boyd Parcell, this year, but much of the slack will be taken up by the Trojans’ big center, Neil Walcher (6-5).

Andrews has just two other lettermen to help  his big senior, but boys like Jon Hoyt and Chuck Sweeting might be all he needs for a second straight title.

Western Reserve, coached by Ike Ferris, possesses the biggest player in the loop in 6-foot, 8-inch Mike Hyde. This big boy could very well give the Riders a lot to say on what the title outcome will be.

The only other letterman back for the Western Reserve Club is forward Bob Sherwood.

Coach Carroll “Snag” Sanders of the Berlin Heights Tigers will be trying to better a 3-13 record of last year, but what little bit of height he did have is now gone.

Just three letterrmen are back. They are guard, RIch Weaver; center, Roger Massey; and forward, Ron Johnson.

The Monroeville Eagles could be a a real surprise this year. They have only three lettermen back and lost considerable strength last year due to graduation, but shooters like Jerry Shell and Steve Gies and Rich Turner will aid their cause.

The Plymouth Redmen should be the strongest team in their area. They lost exactly no one last year due to graduation, but Rover Van Loo hurt them considerably when he moved.

Still, Coach Ron Hostler has five lettermen back, paced by guards Jim Hamman and Al Arnold, forwards Phil Fletcher and Tom Barnd and center Dave Myers.

The New London Wildcats might make plenty of teams sit up and take notice in the Lakeland Conference.

Coach Les Myers, in his 10th year, has four boys back with letters. They are Bill Damron, Bob Cooke, Dick Marsehall and Dennis Edwards.



Norwalk Reflector Videos