no avatar

Jim Jordan, Warren Davidson will return to Congress

By Will Garbe and Michael D. Pitman • Nov 6, 2018 at 11:30 PM

Congressmen Jim Jordan and Warren Davidson will return to the U.S. House in January, according to unofficial results of Tuesday’s election.

Jordan, R-Urbana, won re-election in the 8th District over Janet Garrett.

Davidson, R-Troy, represents Springfield in the 4th District and won his election over Vanessa Enoch. The Republican was re-elected to his his second full term to the congressional seat.

Neither race was expected to be competitive, though early on Jordan — who intends to run for Speaker of the House to replace Paul Ryan, R-Wisconsin — faced questions over whether he knew of but did not report sexual misconduct by a team doctor while a coach on Ohio State University’s wrestling team. Jordan vehemently denies the claims.

Still, the allegations allowed Garrett to raise money and run television ads across multiple media markets in the oddly shaped district — an unusual luxury for a Democrat in the district. The 4th Congressional District stretches from Champaign County all the way to Elyria. The district also includes Shelby, Auglaize and Logan counties.

Davidson was first elected to the seat after he won a special election in June 2016 to replace former House speaker John Boehner. The seat has been held by a Republican since redistricting moved the congressional district to Southwest Ohio and the Miami Valley in 1970.

The 8th Congressional District stretches from the shores of Grand Lake St. Mary’s along its northern borders to just before the northern portion of the Interstate 275 loop in Greater Cincinnati and encompasses all of Butler, Clark, Darke, Miami and Preble counties and the southernmost portion of Mercer County.


©2018 Springfield News-Sun, Ohio

Visit Springfield News-Sun, Ohio at www.springfieldnewssun.com

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.

Norwalk Reflector Videos