School board honors Academic Challenge 5th-grade champs

Cary Ashby • Feb 14, 2019 at 7:00 PM

Academic challenge members were honored Tuesday at the Norwalk school board meeting.

Norwalk City Schools Superintendent George Fisk and Main Street School Principal Dan Bauman honored the fifth-grade Academic Challenge team members, who are the reigning Huron County and Quad County champions.

Those students are: Ella Andrews, Kayli Bergman, Brooke Heyman, Brynn Pack, Abby Upton, Tommy Vanderpool, Kaedyn Warner and Evelyn Welschenbach. The advisers are Stephanie Riggs and Terry Snyder.

Bauman said he is amazed at the students’ competitiveness and knowledge.

“To watch them is amazing,” he added.

In other action, the board:

• Honored Judy Simon’s retirement after 20 years of dedicated service to the district.

“Judy Simon has worked at several buildings during her time with the Norwalk City Schools district. She has served NCSD as a cleaning person, a cook helper in various buildings and at Maplehurst (Elementary) for over 10 years. She has also helped and been a smiling face at Donuts for Dads, Muffins for Moms and grandparents’ breakfasts for many years. Mrs. Simon has several grandchildren who have graduated from NHS,” Fisk said. “She will be greatly missed.”

• Presented Pleasant Elementary staff members with the banner for being named a 2018 High Progress School of Honor, which is based on the 2017-2018 state school report card. As both a parent and the superintendent, Fisk said the distinction shows that Principal Janice Smith and her staff have a plan for addressing students’ academic needs.

Pleasant achieved performance gains in both English/language arts and math in the 90th percentile among all students statewide over the last five years. The Title I-eligible school, which serves at least 40 percent economically-disadvantaged students, also earned graduation gains in the 90th percentile among all students in Ohio. 

• Accepted several donations: $28,374 from the Schlink Foundation and almost $2,240 from the Huron County Community Foundation, both for teacher grants; $2,400 from the Fisher-Titus Foundation for concussion-prevention football helmets; and $4,000 from Fisher-Titus Medical Center for health education grants.

• Approved a new five-year contract for district treasurer Joyce Dupont, effective Aug. 1 through July 31, 2024.  

Norwalk Reflector Videos