no avatar

New London boys win host Olien Invitational

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Oct 5, 2019 at 9:31 PM

NEW LONDON — The state-ranked New London boys cross country team won its host Dan Olien Invitational with ease on Saturday.

The Wildcats — ranked No. 2 in the Division III state coaches poll — scored 37 points to finish well ahead of Edison (55) and Keystone (60).

Competing on a two-mile course, Curtis Joppeck was third overall for the ‘Cats in 10:01.55. He was followed by Tyler Twining in seventh (10:26.52) and Dominic Albaugh in ninth (10:37.65). Carson Coey was 12th (10:45.40), followed by Mitchell Joppeck (13th, 10:48.18) and Caleb Good (14th, 10:50.72).

The Edison standout duo of Tyler Coon and Daniel Lambert took first and second for the Chargers. Coon was clocked at 9:53.49 and Lambert at 9:55.68.

Also for Edison, Aidan Anderson was 16th (10:52.69), followed by Brock Tice (21st, 11:11.76), William Duniver (24th, 11:30.10), Dax Austin (25th, 11:37.53) and Gabe Tice (26th, 11:38.59).

Levi Robinson was 10th overall for Plymouth in 10:38.50, while Landon Blankenship (11:50.37) and Nick Bowser (11:54.17) in 31st and 32nd. Also for the Big Red, Christian Page was 40th (12:35.25), followed by Andrew Miller (45th, 13:09.22) and Layne Brown (59th, 15:45.28).

In the 5K race, St. Paul scored 39 points to finish with the lowest total out of eight teams.

Zack Stine was second overall in 17:28.54, followed by Ian Deeter (18:00.8) in sixth, Gavin Ross (18:03.54) in seventh and Isaac Thimke (18:09.62) in ninth. Nick Centa was 15th (18;39.6), followed by Alex Stine (18th, 18:59.16) and Ryan Gross (19th, 19:00.77).

Monroeville was paced by Ellis Herner in 49th (20:34.26), Trask Ott (74th, 22:15.13), Jimmy Clingman (85th, 23:14.57) and Layton Hauler (97th, 26:03.37).

New London’s Braeden Gets was third (17:35.4) and Cole Kropka (17;51.06) was fifth. Edison’s Bryce Michaelis was 27th (19:19.60).


Lesniak wins two-mile

NEW LONDON — Edison standout Abby Lesniak had the top time in the girls two-mile race in 11:39.38.

Also for Edison, Paige Schaefer was fourth (13:21.10) and Peyton Facemire (13:23.80) was fifth. Lindsay Sneider (13:54.09), Katelyn Jeremay (14:05.65) and Ava Miller (14:11.92) placed ninth through 11th for the Chargers, and Mallory Jamison was 16th (14:25.96).

Kaylin Williams was second for New London behind Lesniak in 12:20.48. She was followed by Abigail Good (13:43.03) in sixth, Emily White (13:47.58) in seventh and Esther Schmidt (14:15.58) in 12th and Grace Crawshaw (14:21.71) in 13th.

Plymouth was led by Eliza Redden in 17th (14:34.99) and followed by Olivia Fidler (24th, 15:24.45), Kaela Plank (31st, 17:00.66) and Ellie Beckner (34th, 18:50.74).

St. Paul as third out of eight teams in the 5K race.

Cheyene Null was ninth for the Flyers in 21:53.97, while Madelyn McCall (21:57.68) and Dana Sumpter (22:06.82) placed 11th and 12th, respectively. Also for St. Paul, Olivia Hosack was 18th (23:34.80), followed by Claire Ceccoli (21st, 23:41.50), Josalynn Vazquez (24th, 24:08.99) and Maggie Centa (32nd, 25:05.79).

Monroeville was led by Rachel Herner in 26th (24:24.44) and Adelynn Kradlak in 30th (24:58.33).

Payton Scheid was 40th (25:37.48), followed by Anita Ruggles (44th, 25:52.18), Emily Kradlak (50th, 26:42.98) and Callie Rosser (69th, 32:32.49).

Kora Landis (22:56.20) was 15th for New London and Zoey Mitchell was 22nd (23:57.58).

All area teams will compete at the Sandusky Bay Conference and Firelands Conference championship meets on Saturday. The SBC meet is at Hedges-Boyer Park in Tiffin, and the FC meet will be held at Plymouth.


Willard competes at Medina

MEDINA — The Willard boys cross country team finished eighth out of 19 teams at the 28th annual Medina Festival on Saturday.

The Crimson Flashes scored 236 points as a team.

Landon Schaffer was 10th overall for the Crimson Flashes in 17:22.19, while Trenton Rupert was 23rd in 17:46.72. Also for Willard, Nick Bauer was 65th (18:50.58), followed by Fernando Huerta (72nd, 19:03.06), Aaron Stephens (114th, 20:02.12), William Gates (122nd, 20:13.63) and Kaleb Walton (20:20.30).

The Willard girls were 13th out of 17 teams.

Amy Del Angel led the Flashes, as she placed 17th in 20:53.8. She was followed by Madison Clark (67th, 23:01.54), Araceli Huerta (80th, 23:37.22), Haley Henry (90th, 24:00.7), Abby Del Angel (114th, 23:50.47), Zoey Hartz (117th, 24:53.78) and Carisa Metcalfe (146th, 26:03.14).

Norwalk Reflector Videos