no avatar

Monroeville grad Moore to enter Ohio Basketball HOF

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Jul 25, 2018 at 8:00 AM

COLUMBUS — The Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame’s Class of 2019 has been announced, and it will include College of Wooster basketball coach Steve Moore.

A 1970 Monroeville graduate, Moore turned Wooster in a Division III national power and currently has the second-most career wins (822-239) in NCAA Div. III history. That record includes a staggering 735-174 record in 32 seasons leading the Fighting Scots.

On Feb. 25, 2017, Moore earned his 800th coaching win in Wooster's 76-72 win over Ohio Wesleyan — which also gave the Scots another North Coast Atlantic Conference championship — and an automatic bid to the NCAA Div. III championships.

Moore is one of just 18 coaches in men’s basketball history to reach the milestone.

At Monroeville, Moore still holds the single-game scoring record when he had 45 points in a 96-64 win against Black River on Jan. 16, 1970. His 442 points in 20 games as a senior in the 1969-70 season is still the highest average (22.1) in a single-season by a Monroeville player — and the fifth-most overall points scored in a season.

Moore scored 682 points in 40 career games for the Eagles, the fifth-best average (17.1) in program history. He ranks 15th all-time in career points at MHS.

The Hall of Fame class will be honored on May 18, 2019, at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Columbus. Also being inducted is Gary Walters, who won 407 games at Newark High School (1972-99), James Houdeshell, who had 21 winning seasons in 30 years at Findlay College, Reginald Lee, a 434-game winner at Columbus Brookhaven — and Donna Newberry, the Muskingum College women's coach who has the fifth-most wins in NCAA Div. III.

Among the players being inducted are former Ohio State Buckeyes Dave Sorenson, Scoonie Penn and Jodi Roth Korbas; Eastlake North's Kaayla Chones, Ohio’s Ms. Basketball in 1998 and 1999, former Cleveland Cavaliers standout Larry Nance Sr., Charlie Slack (Marshall), Wittenberg's Larry Baker (1,627 points), Beavercreek's Alison Bales (1,075 points at Duke University), the late Lauren Hill (College of Mt. St. Joseph), Dayton Meadowdale's Mike Pratt (Kentucky) — and Dayton University's Roosevelt Chapman and John Horan.

Also being inducted is official Mike Sanzere, of Cincinnati, the 1952 and 1953 Middletown High School Class A state champions; and the 1952 and 1955 Lockland Wayne teams that won Class B state titles.

Norwalk Reflector Videos