no avatar

South Central's Blair, Seidel earn top FC honors

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Updated May 31, 2019 at 1:25 PM

A pair of South Central standouts earned the specialty awards on the All-Firelands Conference baseball teams, which were announced this week.

Junior Simon Blair was the Player of the Year, and classmate Isaiah Seidel was the Pitcher of the Year for the Trojans (18-9).

Blair batted .438 with six doubles, a triple, two home runs and 25 RBIs on offense. He was also 4-1 with a 1.77 ERA on the mound, striking out 47 batters in 35 2/3 innings of work.

Blair is also the two-time reigning FC Player of the Year in basketball.

Meanwhile, Seidel was dominant as the No. 1 starter for the Trojans. He finished 7-2 with a 0.64 ERA, striking out 125 batters to just 11 walks in 54 2/3 innings. He allowed five earned runs on 22 hits for the season.

Also earning first team pitcher in the FC was New London junior Peyton Wilson. A Bowling Green State University recruit, Wilson was 5-3 with a 1.43 ERA this season for the Wildcats. In 49 innings, Wilson struck out 90 with 15 walks. He allowed 10 earned runs on 30 hits.

Also earning first team from the area was the St. Paul quartet of seniors Gavin Starcher (.412, 23 RBIs), Noah Good (.365, 29 RBIs) and Jake Griffin (.292, 21 RBIs), along with junior Lars Livengood (.407, 12 RBIs). The Flyers (19-8) won their third straight FC title and reached a third straight district title game this season.

Plymouth senior Treven Lane and junior teammate Walker Elliot were first team, as was South Central freshman Sam Seidel and Western Reserve junior Tate Drennen (.385, 9 RBIs).

Western Reserve junior Payton Studd was a second team selection as a pitcher, while freshman teammate Jude Muenz was second team as a position player.

Also earning second team was New London’s quartet of seniors Kevin Fridenstine, Karson Howell and Colin Cole, along with junior Wyatt Shockley.

South Central senior Tycen Cooper and sophomore David Lamoreaux were also second team, along with Plymouth sophomore Luke Hamann.


All-Firelands Conference baseball teams


Pitchers: Isaiah Seidel, South Central, Jr.; Peyton Wilson, New London, Jr.

Position players: Gavin Starcher, St. Paul, Sr.; Noah Good, St. Paul, Sr.; Jake Griffin, St. Paul, Sr.; Lars Livengood, St. Paul, Jr.; Simon Blair, South Central, Jr.; Sam Seidel, South Central, Fr.; Shad Rieck, Crestview, Sr.; Walker Elliot, Plymouth, Jr.; Treven Lane, Plymouth, Sr.; Tate Drennen, Western Reserve, Jr.

Player of the Year: Simon Blair, South Central.

Pitcher of the Year: Isaiah Seidel, South Central.

Coach of the Year: Jim Carper, St. Paul; Ty Dendinger, South Central.


Pitchers: Ervin Fussner, Crestview, Sr.; Payton Studd, Western Reserve, Jr.

Position players: David Lamoreaux, South Central, So.; Tycen Cooper, South Central, Sr.; Bryar Ramey, Mapleton, So.; Kevin Fridenstine, New London, Sr.; Wyatt Shockley, New London, Jr.; Karson Howell, New London, Sr.; Colin Cole, New London, Sr.; Jude Muenz, Western Reserve, Fr.; Rhett Ward, Crestview, Sr.; Luke Hamman, Plymouth, So.


Scott Adelman, St. Paul, So.; Kaleb Stafford, Mapleton, Sr.; Devon Good, Western Reserve, Sr.; Brad Kraft, Monroeville, Jr.; Chase Keathley, New London, Jr.; Draven Kelley, Plymouth, Jr.; Brent Eicher, Cresview, Jr.

Norwalk Reflector Videos