no avatar

Edison advances 10 to sectional semifinals

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Feb 22, 2019 at 11:44 PM

PLYMOUTH — The Edison wrestling team advanced 10 to the semifinals and still has all 12 of its competing wrestlers in the mix for a district spot as the Division III sectional tournament kicked off Friday.

The top four wrestlers in each weight class advance to the district tournament next weekend at Lakota.

Edison’s 70.5 team points leads the field of 13 teams. St. Paul is second at 60 points.

The semifinalists for Chargers include: Alec Homan (106 pounds), Casey Barnett (113), Ray Adams (120), Jakey Near (126), Jordan Keegan (138), Shadrick Slone (145), Griffin Soviak (152), Logan Lloyd (160), Jacob Thompson (182) and Jacob Brewer (195).

Among the semifinalists for the Flyers are Aiden Naseman (106), Harely Stoll (113), Ryan Gross (126), Will Stieber (132), Eric Crabbs (138), Sam Meyer (170), Cam Caizzo (182), Jacob Baca (195) and Brody Service (220).

Nick Roberts (106), Keith Tuttle (120), Peyton Young (170) and Dylan Van Fleet (220) moved on for the host Big Red.

For Willard, Kelsie Medina (120), D.J. Slone (152), Jon Rotthaar (170) and Raven Brant (285) are among the semifinalists while Jacob Martz (138), Aidan Fry-Silva (145) and Tyler Ramage (160) will represent Western Reserve.

Monroeville’s Daniel Smith (160), Caleb Cardman (170) and Montgomery Walls (285) all made the semifinal round as did New London’s Mitchell Phillips (195).

Advancing for South Central was Jayden Strickland (106).


Norwalk moves seven onto sectional semifinals

SANDUSKY — Norwalk had seven wrestlers move onto Saturday’s Division II sectional semifinals as the preliminary rounds kicked off Friday evening at Sandusky High School.

The top four wrestlers in each weight class advance to the district tournament next weekend at Norwalk.

Perkins' 78 points paces the 11-team field. Ontario (58 points), Shelby (56), Norwalk (55) and Sandusky (55) are all right in tow.

Those moving onto the semifinals for the Truckers includes: Corbin Ott (113), Ethan Phillips (152), Ethan Hernandez (160), Darion Smith (170), Gabe Phillips (182), Alec Maloney (220) and Tche Leroux (285).

Norwalk Reflector Videos