no avatar

Norwalk lands three on All-SBC Lake first team

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Updated Oct 19, 2017 at 10:57 PM

One week removed from losing on the tie-breaker by a stroke to reach the state championships, the Norwalk boys golf team was rewarded nicely on Thursday.

The All-Sandusky Bay Conference Lake division teams were announced, with the Truckers placing three of its regulars on the first team, including the top two scoring averages in the conference — including Lake and Bay divisions.

Player averages were determined by adding up all away scores, dropping the worst — combined with the three best home scores and the SBC tournament.

Braden Nunez (38.0) and Jarod Kessler (38.7) each finished with the top two averages in the Lake or Bay divisions, while Norwalk teammate Cam Nickoli (39.4) joined the pair on the Lake first team.

Also for the Truckers, Grant Fisher (42.5) earned a spot in the second team, while Jonah Messereau was an honorable mention selection.

From Bellevue, Jacob Tiell (40.8) made the first team, while Nate Fox was on second team and both Conner Rospert and Grant Vickery were honorable mention.


All-SBC Lake division boys golf teams

First team: Braden Nunez, Norwalk (38.0); Jarod Kessler, Norwalk (38.7); Ian Hilliker, Clyde (39.1); Cam Nickoli, Norwalk (39.4); Dalton Boyce, Shelby (40.4); Jacob Tiell, Bellevue (40.8); John Sharp, Perkins (41.0).

Second team: Andrew Branson, Columbian (41.4); Ben Hohenstein, Clyde (41.9); David Hohenstein, Clyde (42.0); Drew McVeigh, Perkins (42.3); Trevor McCarthy, Columbian (42.4); Grant Fisher, Norwalk (42.5); Nate Fox, Bellevue (42.7); Sam Siegel, Perkins (42.7).

Honorable mention: Kobe Green, Shelby; Braden Brown, Columbian; Jacob Volkman, Bellevue; Jonah Messereau, Norwalk; Jordan Green, Shelby; Conner Rospert, Bellevue; Grant Vickery, Bellevue; Logan Nicely, Clyde.


1. Clyde (31.5 points, 12-0)

2. Norwalk (27 points, 9-3)

3. Perkins (18.5 points, 7-5)

4. Bellevue (15 points, 6-6)

5. Columbian (13.5 points, 6-6)

6. Shelby (10 points, 2-10)

7. Sandusky (0 points, 0-12)


Edison’s Oeder first team Bay choice

In the Bay division, Edison’s Thomas Oeder earned the final first team spot with his 42.2 average score.

Earning second team honors for the Chargers included Casey Fair (42.6), while Ryan Nealy was honorable mention.

Willard’s Kolin McKelvey (43.6) and Alec Gardner (43.9) each earned second team honors for the Crimson Flashes. Their teammate, Graham Wiers, was honorable mention.


All-SBC Bay division boys golf teams

First team: Reese Miller, Vermilion (38.7); Oliver Thomas, Margaretta (39.2); Joby Pfeill, Vermilion (39.2); Dylan Morris, Margaretta (41.5); Carson Kennedy, Margaretta (41.8); Noah Cacciatore, Vermilion (41.8); Thomas Oeder, Edison (42.2).

Second team: Jacob Moncher, Huron (42.6); Casey Fair, Edison (42.6); Tim Delahunt, Huron (43.1); Mason Montgomery, Vermilion (43.2); Jaret Monak, Huron (43.5); Kolin McKelvey, Willard (43.6); Alec Gardner, Willard (43.9).

Honorable mention: Ryan Nealy, Edison; Jake Swope, Huron; Tommy Anderson, Margaretta; Cameron Brace, Margaretta; Alex Millinger, Oak Harbor; John Young, Port Clinton; Graham Wiers, Willard.


1. Vermilion (31 points, 11-1)

2. Margaretta (25.5 points, 9-3)

3. Huron (16 points, 5-7)

4. Willard (15.5 points, 7-5)

5. Edison (12.5 points, 4-8)

6. Port Clinton (9 points, 3-9)

7. Oak Harbor (6 points, 3-9)

Norwalk Reflector Videos