Norwalk Reflector: Gonter aces hole at Eagle Creek

no avatar

Gonter aces hole at Eagle Creek

By DON HOHLER • Sep 22, 2017 at 6:00 AM

When the founder of Eagle Creek’s Legends League, Denny Corrigan, passed away in January, former Western Reserve teacher and football coach Ray Gonter stepped forward and took over the secretaries position.

On the final week of the season, Gonter was rewarded, as he aced the 14th hole, his first-ever 1.

“It was as perfect as a person could ask for,” said Ralph Rushong, who along with Tom Sloma, were Gonter’s playing partners. “It took a big bounce. Then a small one and we heard the ding of the ball hitting the flag stick.”

Gonter used a 7-iron for the perfect 132-yard shot.

It was the second ace in this league in as many years. Larry Coe aced the par 3, hole No. 6 last year.

The final game of the week was a 4-man total minus handicap. The team of Coe, Tulio Caputo and Rushong won it with a 138. Pat Dublo, Ken Magill, Bob Vaughan and John Horrigan finished second at 147.

Coe won low gross with a 36 and low net among the A players at 33. Larry Bartlett won B with a net 32.

Coe and Bill Oiler birdied 11, Vaughn 12 and Caputo 13.

The skill prize winners in A flight were Dick Parish and Jerry Weyer for proximity, and Coe for his putt. Caputo copped both proximity prizes in B, giving way only to Dick Spinello for his putt. In C, it was Larry Bartlett and Vaughn winning for closest shots, while Tom Fries ran in the longest putt on 11.

Other prizes went to Parish, Al Karis, Caputo and Rich Hartung for long drives and to Duane Moore and Oiler for shots closest to the 150 marker.

Chamber scramble raises $4,000

The Huron County Chamber of Commerce four-person scramble raised $4,000 for the local office on Wednesday at Eagle Creek. Eighteen teams took part in the areas longest running fund-raising event.

Two flights were contested with the A winners, posting a 17-under par 54 included Brett Montague, Curt Andersen, Jake Thomas and Mike Beveridge.

The B flight winners figured a 62. That team was made up of Kalen Baker, Brad Englert, Seth Ruggles andAl Greves.

Hole prizes were contested on every hole. The following were the winners along with their skill:

No.1 — Jason Hill: longest made putt.

No. 2 — Matt Schaffer: drive closest to 150 yard marker.

No. 3 — Norma Schaechterle: longest drive for women.

No. 4 — Kevin Hicks: longest made putt.

No. 5 — Tim Phillips: longest drive for men.

No. 6 — Roy Hicks: closest to pin with tee ball.

No. 7 — Chris Kromer: longest made putt.

No. 8 — Tim Hallock: closest to pin with tee ball.

No. 9 — Jim Conway: drive closest to 150-yard post.

No.10 — Derek Newell: longest made putt.

No.11 — Katie Hyatt: closest to the pin with 2nd shot.

No.12 — Seth Ruggles: closest to the pin with tee ball.

No.13 — Tina Hormell: longest drive for women.

No.14 — Ken Bleile: closest to the pin with tee ball.

No.15 — Kathy Sigsworth: longest made putt.

No.16 — Brett Montague: closest to pin with tee ball.

No.17 — Kelly Smith: closest to 150-yard post.

No.18 — John Payne: longest drive in fairway.

50/50 winner — Mike Beveridge.

Norwalk Reflector Videos