no avatar

Seventeen from area earn first team All-Northwest district honors

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Updated Nov 14, 2018 at 6:55 PM

FINDLAY — A total of 17 area players earned first team recognition on the 2018 All-Northwest District football teams, which were selected by an Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association media panel from the district.

The teams were selected on Monday in Findlay. Reflector sports editor Mark Hazelwood is the district chairman of the 10-person panel. Voting was based on regular season statistics. District teams throughout the state form the All-Ohio teams, to be released the week of the seven state championship games.

In Div. III, regional finalist Norwalk (9-3) had seven players selected to the first team and two on the second team.

Junior offensive tackle Trey Leroux (6-feet-8, 335 pounds) was voted the Lineman of the Year for Div. III.

A unanimous selection to the All-Sandusky Bay Conference Lake Division first team, Leroux is a key part of an offense with more than 4,000 yards and 400 points entering Friday’s Week 13 game vs. Sandusky at Bellevue.

An NCAA Div. I recruit with offers from Purdue, Cincinnati and Toledo, Leroux finished with 35 pancake blocks and did not allow a sack during the regular season.

Also earning first team offense honors for the Truckers were senior receiver Brandon Haraway, senior running back Trevon Raymore and sophomore kicker Garrison Smith.

Haraway caught 30 passes for 506 yards and 3 TDs during the regular season, while Raymore totaled 1,888 yards and 21 TDs on the ground. Raymore surpassed 2,000 yards in the playoffs and is one of two players in program history (Breck Turner, 2014) to achieve the milestone.

Smith was 41-of-42 on extra point attempts in the regular season, and also connected on five field goals — including a 39-yarder. He added 13 touchbacks on kickoffs and is 55-of-56 on PATs entering Friday’s game.

On defense, senior defensive end Tche Leroux, junior linebacker Alec Maloney and senior defensive back Kaden Livingston were also first team selections.

Tche Leroux had 70 tackles and 10 sacks in the regular season, while also recovering three fumbles — including one for a touchdown. Maloney had 90 tackles and three sacks, while Livingston added 73 tackles, five interceptions and a fumble recovery.

Earning second team honors for Norwalk included sophomore quarterback Garrett Chapin and junior defensive back Ryan Sowders. Junior linebacker Josh Neuberger was honorable mention.


Bellevue's Howey is first team

Bellevue junior linebacker Jack Howey was selected to the first team in Div. IV.

Howey finished with 95 tackles, one sack and a fumble recovery this season for the Redmen. That figure led the SBC Lake in tackles in a league that featured four Div. III playoff teams.

Senior Gavin Sparling, who led the SBC Lake in receiving yardage, was second team — as was senior defensive back Dalton Hay.

Earning honorable mention for Bellevue included Keegan Ray (QB), Colton Ray (DL) and Damion Hay (DL).

Also earning honorable mention was Edison's Carson Ehrhardt and Jared Tomson.


Five from Willard recognized

After its best season in eight years, the Willard football team had five players recognized on the Div. V district team.

Defensive lineman Zach Mahl was first team for the Crimson Flashes after finishing with 45 tackles and seven sacks. Earning second team offense for Willard include junior quarterback Cooper Parrott and senior receiver Brevon Polachek.

Joey Holida (WR) and Jerett Sowers (RB) were honorable mention for the Flashes.


Four earn HM honors

In Div. VI, four area Firelands Conference players made the honorable mention list.

Western Reserve defensive lineman Devin Good and defensive back Cody Benesh, along with New London receiver Josh Hess and lineman Kevin Fridenstine were the selections.


St. Paul puts five on first team

Five St. Paul seniors were voted to the Div. VII first team, along with three other area FC standouts.

On offense, FC Offensive Lineman of the Year Sam Meyer was on the first team, as was classmate Jake Griffin at kicker.

Meyer helped anchor a St. Paul offense that averaged 389.5 yards and 36.7 points per game this season. The Flyers also had two 1,000-yard running backs and threw for over 1,400 yards passing. Griffin was 51-of-54 on extra point attempts and added three field goals for 60 points.

Defensively, lineman Davis Hedrick, linebacker Noah Good and defensive back Gavin Starcher were also first-team selections. Good (FC DB of the Year) finished with 101 tackles (nine for loss), two interceptions and two fumble recoveries, while Hedrick (FC DL of the Year) added 47 tackles (3 for loss), one sack, one fumble recovery and five QB hurries. Starcher had 50 tackles, 2 interceptions and eight pass breakups.

Also earning first team honors from the area included senior wide receiver Cristiano Murphy from South Central, along with Monroeville running back Dominic Ruffing and Plymouth running back Kade Collins.

Murphy caught 44 passes for 650 yards and 6 TDs, and totaled 1,027 all-purpose yards. Ruffing ran for 1,653 yards and 15 TDs, and Collins had 1,731 yards and 21 TDs.

Earning second team offense recognition included South Central quarterback Evan Legg and receiver David Lamoreaux, as well as St. Paul junior running back Cam Caizzo.

South Central lineman Tyler Sherer and linebacker Wyatt Caudill were second team selections on defense.

Honorable mention selections in Div. VII included Monroeville's Ben Schafer, Adam Rogers and Chayce Schaub, along with South Central's Tycen Cooper.

Norwalk Reflector Videos