no avatar

St. Paul, Monroeville players claim All-FC specialty awards

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Nov 13, 2018 at 3:56 PM

Winners of seven league championships in a row, St. Paul claimed three of the specialty awards on the All-Firelands Conference football teams, which were announced on Monday.

The Flyers finished the season at 9-2 overall and ranked No. 10 in the final Associated Press state poll. That included a 7-0 record in the FC for a sixth consecutive year, as St. Paul has won 46 straight league games dating back to 2012.

Senior center Sam Meyer was selected as the Offensive Lineman of the Year for the Flyers, while senior Noah Good was Defensive Back of the Year.

Senior Davis Hedrick shared Defensive Lineman of the Year with Monroeville senior Adam Rogers.

Meyer helped anchor a St. Paul offense that averaged 389.5 yards and 36.7 points per game this season. The Flyers also had two 1,000-yard running backs and threw for over 1,400 yards passing.

At linebacker, Good finished with 101 tackles (nine for loss), two interceptions and two fumble recoveries. Hedrick added 47 tackles (3 for loss), one sack, one fumble recovery and five QB hurries.

In nine games for the Eagles (6-4), Rogers finished with 48 tackles (eight for loss), one sack, two fumble recoveries and a fumble return for a touchdown.

St. Paul placed five players total on the first team offense. They included junior running back Cam Caizzo (1,288 yards, 16 TDs), Meyer, Hedrick at offensive tackle, senior Eric Crabbs (30 catches, 419 yards, 6 TDs) at tight end and senior Jake Griffin (51-of-54 PATs, 3 FGs) at kicker.

South Central senior receiver Cristiano Murphy was first team after helping the Trojans (7-3) to their best season in 37 years. He caught 44 passes for 650 yards and 6 TDs, and totaled 1,027 all-purpose yards.

Standout senior running backs Dominic Ruffing (Monroeville) and Kade Collins (Plymouth) were also first team selections, along with senior guards Avery Horne (Plymouth), Devon Good (Western Reserve) and senior tackle Ben Schafer (Monroeville).

Ruffing ran for 1,685 yards and 15 TDs for the Eagles, while Collins totaled 1,731 yards and 21 TDs for the Big Red.

On the first team defense, joining Hedrick and Good for St. Paul included Crabbs (83 tackles, 6 pass breakups) and senior Gavin Starcher (50 tackles, 2 INTs, 8 pass breakups).

Joining Rogers on the first team defense for Monroeville included Schafer on the lone and senior Chayce Schaub at defensive back.

South Central senior Tyler Sherer (70.5 tackles, 7.5 sacks) was a lineman, while senior Wyatt Caudill (131 tackles, 2 INTs) was selected at inside linebacker, and junior John Hale was the first team punter (25 for 36.0 average).

Western Reserve junior defensive back Cody Benesh was also a first team selection. He finished with 70 tackles (four for loss), one sack and forced a fumble.

Area players earning second team honors on offense included South Central’s Evan Legg (QB, Jr.), David Lamoreaux (WR, So.) and Caudill (C); Western Reserve’s Jacob Martz (RB, Sr.); Monroeville’s Montgomery Walls (OG, Sr.); Plymouth’s Austin Roblin (K, Sr.) and St. Paul’s Good (RB).

Earning second team defense included Plymouth’s Dylan VanFleet (DL, Jr.), Walker Elliot (DB, Jr.) and Collins (ILB); South Central’s Tycen Cooper (ILB, Sr.); Monroeville’s Eli Ott (OLB, So.) and St. Paul’s Meyer (ILB).

Second-year South Central head coach Corey Fickiesen was named the FC Coach of the Year. The Trojans finished 7-3 overall (4-3 FC) — the most wins in a regular season since 1981.


All-Firelands Conference football teams


Quarterback: Logan Pharmer, Mapleton, Sr.

Running back: Cam Caizzo, St. Paul, Jr.; Dominic Ruffing, Monroeville, Sr.; Kade Collins, Plymouth, Sr.

Receiver: Ethan Hartley, Mapleton, So.; Cristiano Murphy, South Central, Sr.

Center: Sam Meyer, St. Paul, Sr.

Guards: Avery Horne, Plymouth, Sr.; Devon Good, Western Reserve, Sr.

Tackles: Davis Hedrick, St. Paul, Sr.; Ben Schafer, Monroeville, Sr.

Tight end: Eric Crabbs, St. Paul, Sr.

Kicker: Jake Griffin, St. Paul, Sr.

Offensive Back of the Year: Logan Pharmer, Mapleton.

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Sam Meyer, St. Paul.

Coach of the Year: Corey Fickiesen, South Central.


Linemen: Davis Hedrick, St. Paul, Sr.; Ben Schafer, Monroeville, Sr.; Tyler Sherer, South Central, Sr.

Inside linebackers: Noah Good, St. Paul, Sr.; Adam Shadd, Mapleton, Sr.; Wyatt Caudill, South Central, Sr.

Outside linebackers/end: Eric Crabbs, St. Paul, Sr.; Adam Rogers, Monroeville, Sr.

Defensive back: Gavin Starcher, St. Paul, Sr.; Chayce Schaub, Monroeville, Sr.; Cody Benesh, Western Reserve, Jr.; Gage Scurlock, Mapleton, Jr.

Punter: John Hale, South Central, Jr.

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Davis Hedrick, St. Paul; Adam Rogers, Monroeville.

Defensive Back of the Year: Noah Good, St. Paul.


Quarterback: Evan Legg, South Central, Jr.

Running back: Noah Good, St. Paul, Sr.; Jacob Martz, Western Reserve, Sr.; Garrett Hartley, Mapleton, Sr.

Receiver: Gage Scurlock, Mapleton, Jr.; David Lamoreaux, South Central, So.

Center: Wyatt Caudill, South Central, Sr.

Guard: Adam Shadd, Mapleton, Sr.; Montgomery Walls, Monroeville, Sr.

Tackles: Austin Sanders, Mapleton, Sr.; TC McAvene, Crestview, Sr.

Kicker: Austin Roblin, Plymouth, Sr.


Linemen: Austin Sanders, Mapleton, Sr.; Caden Hill, Crestview, Jr.; Dylan VanFleet, Plymouth, Jr.

Inside linebacker: Sam Meyer, St. Paul, Sr.; Tycen Cooper, South Central, Sr.; Kade Collins, Plymouth, Sr.

Outside linebacker/end: Travis Dubois, Mapleton, Jr.; Eli Ott, Monroeville, So.

Defensive back: Logan Pharmer, Mapleton, Sr.; Kolton Kissel, Crestview, Sr.; Ross Kuhn, Crestview, So.; Walker Elliot, Plymouth, Jr.

Punter: Ross Kuhn, Crestview, So.


Quarterback: Jake Griffin, St. Paul, Sr.; Peyton Wilson, New London, Jr.

Running back: Dylan Balcarcel, Crestview, Sr.

Receiver: Josh Hess, New London, Sr.; Lucas Cragel, Mapleton, Sr.; Anthony Dublo, Monroeville, Jr.

Center: Treven Lane, Plymouth, Sr.

Guard: Roger Smith, Monroeville, Sr.; Garret Parlett, Crestview, Sr.; Dakota Lewis, South Central, Jr.; Jaden Oney, Plymouth, Jr.

Tackle: David Martin, Mapleton, Sr.; Kevin Fridenstine, New London, Sr.; Aiden Markley, Western Reserve, Jr.; Scott Jennings, Plymouth, Jr.


Linemen: Gavin Moffit, St. Paul, So.; Dillon Kern, Mapleton, So.; Grant Opper, Monroeville, So.; Kameron Goon, Crestview, Jr.; Cole Wasiniak, South Central, Sr.

Inside linebacker: Avery Kluding, Monroeville, Sr.; Braden Nichols, Western Reserve, Sr.; John Bradley, Mapleton, So.

Outside linebacker/end: Seth Baith, Crestview, Jr.; Lathen Sholes, South Central, So.

Defensive backs: Lars Livengood, St. Paul, Jr.; Ethan Blair, St. Paul, Jr.; Cory Hipp, Western Reserve, So.; Jay Cook, South Central, Jr.; Anthony Montgomery, Plymouth, Sr.; Norbert Sword, New London, Sr.

Recommended for You

    Norwalk Reflector Videos