no avatar

Bailey, Seidel earn top honors in Firelands Conference

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Updated May 29, 2018 at 7:34 PM

Plymouth senior Seth Bailey repeated as the top player in the Firelands Conference, while junior Isaiah Seidel had the top arm.

Bailey was selected as the FC Player of the Year for the 2018 season, the league announced on Tuesday. Meanwhile, Seidel, a sophomore at South Central, was chosen as the Pitcher of the Year.

In 29 games for the Big Red, Bailey hit .451 with seven doubles, three triples, a home run and 33 RBIs. Plymouth (19-10) reached a Division IV regional championship game last week, its best tournament run in program history.

Seidel helped the Trojans reach a district title game where they fell to Plymouth, 6-2. For the season, Seidel made 10 starts, going 8-1 with a 1.52 ERA. He struck out 99 batters in 60 innings of work. In 24 games, Seidel also batted .364 with four doubles and 18 RBIs.

League champion St. Paul placed four players on the first team, led by Nick Lukasko, who went 5-0 with a 1.66 ERA this season as the team’s ace. Also for the Flyers, seniors Kurt Maxwell and Luke Carper, and junior Gavin Starcher were voted to the first team.

In 24 games, Maxwell batted .368 nine doubles, a triple and 30 RBIs. Carper hit .366 with eight doubles, a home run and 22 RBIs. Starcher added a .438 average with 18 RBIs as a catcher.

Other area first team selections included Western Reserve’s Devin Good (.485, 15 RBIs), New London’s Peyton Wilson (.393, 24 RBIs), South Central’s Ben Lamoreaux (.423, 23 RBIs) — and Plymouth’s Jarrett Miller (3-2, 3.10 ERA).

Earning Coach of the Year honors was St. Paul’s Jim Carper. The Flyers won the FC championship outright, giving them back-to-back titles for the first time in program history.

Area selections to the second team included St. Paul’s Brandon Saldusky and Noah Good; New London’s Derek Smith and Keaton Houghtlen; Plymouth’s Treven Lane and Walker Elliot; Monroeville’s Gage Blackford and South Central’s Simon Blair.

All-Firelands Conference baseball teams

First team: Isaiah Seidel, South Central, So.; Seth Bailey, Plymouth, Sr.; Nick Lukasko, St. Paul, Sr.; Luke Carper, St. Paul, Sr.; Kurt Maxwell, St. Paul, Sr.; Sam Mullins, Mapleton, Sr.; Jarrett Miller, Plymouth, Sr.; Warren Fussner, Crestview, Sr.; Ben Lamoreaux, South Central, Sr.; Gavin Starcher, St. Paul, Jr.; Devin Good, Western Reserve, So.; Peyton Wilson, New London, So.

Second team: Brandon Saldusky, St. Paul, Sr.; Blake Sweet, Crestview, Sr.; Derek Smith, New London, Sr.; Kaleb Ambrose, Mapleton, Sr.; Jacob Hoffman, Mapleton, Sr.; Keaton Houghtlen, New London, Sr.; Gage Blackford, Monroeville, Sr.; Ervin Fussner, Crestview, Jr.; Treven Lane, Plymouth, Jr.; Noah Good, St. Paul, Jr.; Simon Blair, South Central, So.; Walker Elliot, Plymouth, So.

Honorable mention: Matt Perkins, Western Reserve, Sr.; Dylan Wallace, New London, Sr.; AJ Hamman, Plymouth, Sr.; Jay Oswalt, Crestview, Sr.; Gavin Eitle, Monroeville, Sr.; Tycen Cooper, South Central, Jr.; Zack Howman, Mapleton, So.; Lars Livengood, St. Paul, So.

Pitcher of the Year: Isaiah Seidel, South Central.

Player of the Year: Seth Bailey, Plymouth.

Coach of the Year: Jim Carper, St. Paul.

Recommended for You

    Norwalk Reflector Videos